Google has recently added the Real-Time Location sharing to Google Maps. Through this feature you can temporarily let your friends or family keep tabs on your whereabouts.
Interestingly this feature was already a part of Google+ app for a couple of years, however now Google has enabled it in the Maps application on Android, iOS and web version as well.
How to Share your Location Through Google Maps?
You can just open the side menu and select “Share Location” or tap the blue dot that represents where you are. Then you’ll be asked to select who to share your location with and how long to share.
The time interval ranges between 15 minutes to 3 days. You can also choose to continuously share the location until you turn it off manually. Whenever you’re sharing the location, Google will show an icon above the compass on your map and you can cancel it any time.
When you start sharing, Maps will send a link to the selected people through your preferred messaging app, all they have to do open this link in Maps or on desktop browser.
The people to whom you’re sharing your location can also share back their locations as well, but this isn’t mandatory.
The answer to the question “Where are you?” is just one tap away now!
– Jen Fitzpatrick, VP Google Maps
Share your ETA’s as well:
You can also share your estimated time of arrival by selecting the destination first and then start sharing your location. So the people waiting for you will know exactly when you’ll arrive.
Real-Time Location sharing could be very helpful, if you’re traveling alone, especially females who have to travel for work. Similarly if you’re stuck in the traffic or running late for a meeting, you can share your ETA with friends and colleagues to let them know when you’ll arrive.
This feature is rolling out for all users:
Location sharing on Google Maps is rolling out soon worldwide, and may not be available on your device yet. Make sure you’re signed up for Beta channel if you want to get this feature right now on your phone.